Board Members

Home» About Us » Board Members » Board of Directors

The Credit Union's Board of Directors and Board committee members volunteer their time and expertise to the task of guiding the Credit Union along a path of sound growth and fiscal responsibility. Depending upon committee assignments, this may require from five to ten hours of service per month.

During their monthly meetings, the Board sets the plans and policies that govern the Credit Union. It also ensures that these plans are properly implemented in compliance with the organization's charter, by-laws, applicable law, sound business practices and in keeping with the best interests of our membership.

Board of Directors

Christopher C. Dey - Chairman
  • Member of the Board of Directors since 2002
  • Served as Vice Chairman of the Board and Treasurer
  • Served as Chairman of the Supervisory and Nominating Committees
  • Served as Volunteer on Asset/Liability Management, Supervisory and Nominating Committees
  • Serves as Chief Financial Officer for the Office of the Sergeant at Arms of the United States Senate
  • Georgetown University (B.S.B.A.) and New York University (M.B.A.)
  • Certified Public Accountant
Chris Dey
Christopher D. Shunk – Vice Chair
  • Member since 1974
  • Member of the Board of Directors from 1991 – 2003 and 2008.
  • Served as Treasurer, Volunteer and Chairman on the following committees: Asset/Liability Management, Credit, Loan Policy, Nominating & Supervisory.
  • U.S. Senate Disbursing Office; Committee on Rules & Administration; 1974 – 1977 & 1981 to present.
  • A.A. – Prince Georges Community College; B.B.A. – The George Washington University; M.R.E. – Abilene Christian University.
Ileana Garcia, CPA - Secretary/Treasurer
  • Member since 1997
  • Past Chairman of the US Senate FCU Supervisory Committee since 2003
  • Assistant Financial Clerk of the U.S. Senate
  • B.S. degree in Business Administration
  • Certified Public Accountant
Judy Rainey - Director
  • Served as Treasurer and President of the Board of Directors for the Senate Employees Child Care Center
  • Worked as Director of Administration for Senators Thomas Carper and Bob Kerrey
  • Coordinated the Democratic Office Managers Group
  • Founder of the Joint Steering Committee
  • Founding member of the Senate Employees Child Care Center
  • Currently working for Senator Frank Lautenberg as Deputy
  • Chief of Staff.
Judy Rainey
Timothy Anderson - Director
  • A former member of management at the Credit Union
  • Served as Chair of Asset/Liability Committee ("ALCO")
  • Holds an M.B.A. from the University of Maryland
  • Has 27 years of financial services experience
  • Served as VP and COO at the Treasury Department Federal Credit Union
  • Served as Vice President of Operations at Equitable Bank
  • Has additional financial management experience at BB&T, Independence and M&T banks
  • Serves on the Strategic Planning and Membership Committees at TFCU
Tomothy Anderson
Bertie Bowman - Director
  • Served as a Board Member of the Credit Union since 1976
  • Served as Co-Chair of Assets/Liability Management Committee
  • Served as Chairman of the Board for two terms
  • Served as Chairman of the Credit, Personnel and Supervisory Committees
  • Currently president of his own business and consultant to the Senate Foreign Relations Committee
  • Retired from the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee in 1990 after 41 years
Bertie Bowman
Denis P. O'Donovan - Director
  • Member since 1970
  • Chief Clerk, Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee since 1998
  • Financial Clerk, Senate Commerce Committee, 1993-98
  • Deputy Senior Auditor, Senate Rules Committee, 1987-93
  • Senate Disbursing Office Payroll and Audit sections, 1973-87
  • Volunteer for the Anne Arundel Habitat for Humanity Family Selection Committee
  • Certified Fraud Examiner
  • B.S. University of Maryland, Technology Management
Margaret P. (Margo) Rushing - Director
  • Member since 1973
  • 33 years on Capitol Hill
  • Deputy Chief of Staff for Senator Conrad Burns
  • Responsible for managing and coordinating the Senate Republican Administrative Managers/Directors and Chief Clerks
  • Chair, Joint meetings of Administrative Directors
  • Chair, Senate Steering Committee
  • AS Business Administration
  • Georgetown Senior Executive Leadership Program graduate
Margaret Rushing
Anthony J. "Tony" Zagami - Director
  • USSFCU member since 1967
  • Former Chair of USSFCU and served on Personnel, Supervisory, and ALCO Committees as well as CUSS CUSO
  • Currently serves as Director and Chairman of the Board of GPO Federal Credit Union
  • Former General Counsel Emeritus for GPO
  • Served on USSFCU Board of Directors in various capacities from 1986 until 2002 and from 2006 until 2011
  • Former member of Board of Directors of the CUNA DC Credit Union League
  • Started as U. S. Page, and served with the Secretary of the Senate, Senate Sergeant-at- Arms, Architect of the Capitol, and various Congressional Committees
  • B.S. from the University of Maryland School of Business and Public Administration
  • Juris Doctor Degree from the George Mason University Law School
Tony Zagami
Penelope A. Gross - Recording Secretary
  • Serving in current position since May 1985
  • Currently Mason District representative to Fairfax County (VA) Board of Supervisors
  • Executive Assistant to Congressman Mike Kopetski (D-OR) 1991-94
  • Consultant to the Democratic National Committee,1986- 88
  • Staff Assistant to Senator Frank Church (D-ID) 1969-84
  • Staff Assistant to Senator Wayne Morse (D-OR) 1965-68
  • B.S. in Political Science, University of Oregon, 1965
Penelope Gross


Committee Chairs »

CU AnyHour+ Login Routing Number: 254075250